home page
RumXP Competition Results

The Consumer Rum Jury

submit product for competition

RumXP Competition Results

Previous Award Competitions






2015 RumXP Awards

Twelve members of the International Rum Expert Panel and five guest judges participated in six tasting sessions of 14 categories with 127 of the finest rums in the world presented for evaluation this year.

The RumXPs were sequestered in their tasting room for three days of blind tasting trials. The rums were grouped and judged in categories according to their style.

2015 RumXP judges include Dirk Becker of Germany, Javier Herrera of Spain, Leonardo Pinto of Italy, Bernhard Schäfer of Germany, Forrest Cokely of California, Tatu Kaarlas of Australia, "Bahama Bob" Leonard of Key West, Paul Senft of Georgia, Juan del Busto of Miami, John Gibbons of Sweden, Rene van Hoven of Holland and Ingvar Thomsen of Denmark.

Guest Judges include Marie King of California, Johnny Drejer of Denmark, Suzanne Long of California, Mark Theron of St. Kitts and Nevis, and Alexander Brittel of Miami.


White Rum
Skotlander White

Premium White Rum
Fwaygo White

Gold Rum
Bacardi Gold

Aged Rum
Plantation Original Dark

Premium Aged Rum
Cartavio XO

Aged Rum 5-8 Years
Cartavio 5

Aged Rum 12-15 years
Pusser's 15

Aged Rum 18-25 years
Opthimus 25

Aged Rum - Special Cask
Plantation Jamaica 2001

Spiced Rum
Siesta Key Spiced Limited Edition

Flavored Rum
Plantation Pineapple

Dark Rum
Blackwell Black Gold

Overproof Rum
Plantation Overproof Original Dark

Agricole Blanc
Trois Rivieres Rhum Blanc Agricole 55%

Agricole Vieux
Trois Rivieres Rhum Vieux VSOP

GOLD Medals

White Rum
Blue Chair Bay White
Carta Vieja Silver
Brugal White Extra Dry

Premium White Rum
Plantation 3 Star
Nine Leaves Clear
Skotlander Rum III

Gold Rum
Brugal Anejo
Ron Carta Vieja Gold
Don Barrilito 2 star

Aged Rum
Ron del Barrilito 3 star
Pusser's British Navy
Bundaberg Small Batch 4

Premium Aged Rum
Plantation 20th Anniversary
Mezan XO
Brugal 1888

Aged Rum 5-8 Years
Plantation Barbados 5
Bacardi 8
Real McCoy 5

Aged Rum 12-15 years
Yolo 10
Don Q Gran Anejo
Real McCoy 12

Aged Rum 18-25 years
Opthimus 21
Opthimus 18
Carta Vieja 18

Aged Rum - Special Cask
Plantation Guyana 2005
Opthimus Malt Tomatin Whiskey Barrels 25 yr
Opthimus Oporto Barrels 25

Spiced Rum
Siesta Key Distillers Reserve
Siesta Key Spiced
Blue Chair Bay Coconut Spiced
Bayou Spiced
Blue Water Caribbean Gold Premium Spiced

Flavored Rum
Bayou Satsuma
Blue Chair Bay Banana
Caray Cafe

Overproof Rum
Don Q 151
Lost Spirits Colonial American Inspired Rum
Wicked Dolphin Strawberry RumShine 100 Proof
Stroh 80

Agricole Blanc
Trois Rivieres Cuvee Speciale 40%
Trois Rivieres Rhum Blanc Agricole 40%
Trois Rivieres Rhum Blanc Agricole 50%

Agricole Vieux
Trois Rivieres Rhum Ambre 40%
La Mauny Rhum Vieux X.O. 40%
Trois Rivieres Rhum Vieux Martinique 12yr


The 2015 Consumer Rum Jury Awards

The Consumer Rum Jury is comprised of 20 well qualified rum enthusiast consumers, collectors and experienced rum travelers, offering the perspective of the active and engaged rum buyer in their evaluations.

Jurors gather at the Miami Rum Renaissance Festival for blind tasting sessions under the supervision of the International Rum Expert Panel team.

The juror's scores are compiled, calculated and averaged by an experienced team of statisticians. The results are announced on stage at the Miami Rum Renaissance Festival.

Best In Class

Ron Cartavio XO

Gold Awards

Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva
Opthimus Ron Artesanal Solera 25 Anos
Siesta Key Distillers Reserve Solera Spiced Rum
Siesta Key Spiced Rum
Plantation 20th Anniversary
Bayou Limited Edition Select Barrel Reserve

Silver Awards

Bayou Spiced Rum
Blackwell Black Gold
Brugal 1888
Bacardi 8 Años
Plantation Original Dark
Ron de Barrilito 3 Stars
Real McCoy 5

Bronze Awards

Brugal XV
Pusser's Rum
Carta Vieja Golden Cask 18
Afrohead Premium Aged Dark 15
DonQ Gran Añejo
Trigo Reserva Añeja

Congratulations to all the fine rum brands and their outstanding spirits.